Committees and Commissions


Sandipan De, editor of the News and Misc section, has compiled a list of important committees and commissions and the persons heading them. Previous papers have had at least one question based on this topic. So, make sure to learn them up.

1. Palekar Tribunal:-Journalists’ Pay reforms

2. U.C. Banerjee Commission:- Enquiry into Godhra carnage (railways)

3. Sarkaria Commission: Centre-State relations

4. Srikrishna Commission: 1992 Bombay riots (Srikishna also headed the Committee to look into the Lawyer-violence of the Madras HC in 2009 and presently heads the committee to look into Separate Telangana)

5. Thakkar Commission: Indira Gandhi assassination case

6. Phukan Commission & Saharya Committee: Tehelka tapes

7. Malimath Commission: Criminal Justice

8. Upendra Commission: Inquiry on rape and murder Thangjam Manorama Devi

9. Malhotra Committee: Insurance Reforms

10. Janaki Ram Committee: Security scam

11. Ajay Vikram Singh Committee: Faster promotions in army

12. Rajinder Sachar Committee {1}: Companies and MRPT Act

13. Rajindar Sachar Committee {2}: Report on the social, economic and educational status of the Muslims of India

14. Jyoti Basu Committee: Report on Octroi abolition

15 Balwant Rai Mehta Committee:Recommendations on decentralization system

16. Sawant Committee: Enquiry on corruption, charges against ministers & Anna Hazare

17. Chelliah Committee: Eradicating black money

18. Kothari Commission: Educational reforms

19. Wanchoo Committee: Tax enquiry

20. Bhanu Pratap Singh Committee: Agriculture

21. Aggarwal Committee: Nepotism in granting petrol pump, LPG connections

22. Rangarajan Committee: Reforms in private sector

23. Naresh Chandra Committee: Corporate governance

24. Chakravarti Committee: Banking sector reforms

25. Rekhi Committee: Structure of indirect taxation

26. G.V.Ramakrishna Committee: Disinvestment in PSU shares

27. Kelkar Committee: First committee on backward castes

28. P.C.Hotha Committee: Restructuring of civil services

29. Justice B.N.Kirpal Committee: 1st chairman National Forest Commission

30. Godbole Committee :Enron Power Project

31. J.C.Kumarappa Committee: Congress agrarian Reforms Committee

32. Swaminathan Committee: Population policy

33. Rangarajan Committee: Statistics

34. Wardha Committee: Inquiry on murder of Graham Staines

35. N.N. Vohra Committee: Criminalization of politics

36. Kelkar Committee {2}: Direct-Indirect Taxes

37. Alagh Committee: Civil Service Examinations

38. Abid Hussain Committee: Recommendations on Small scale industries

39. Narasimham Committee: Banking sector reforms

40. Chelliah Committee:Tax reforms

41. Mashelkar Committee: National Auto Fuel Policy

42. Boothalingam Committee : Recommendations on integrated wages, income and price policy

43. Omkar Goswami Committee: Industrial sickness

44. Yashpal Committee: Review of School Education system

45. Ram Nandan Prasad Committee: Constitution of creamy layers among Backward Castes

46. Kelkar Committee{3} :Enquiry on Kargil defense deals.

47. M.M. Punchhi Commission: Centre-State Relations [note- this committee has been set up recently- after the sad demise of Justice (Retd.) Sarkaria]

48. Thorat Committee: Caste-based discrimination against students in AIIMS

49. R.K.Raghavan Committee: Ragging in colleges

51. James Lyngdoh Committee- Student politics and student-body elections in colleges.

52. E.M.S. Nachiappan Committee: Reforms in the higher judiciary

53. Soli Sorabjee Committee: Police Reforms [it was constituted after the Judgement of the Supreme Court in Parkash Singh vs Union of India (2006)]

54. Ganguli Committee: Review of health facility planning and healthcare engineering and management

55. Percy Mistry Committee: Making Mumbai an IFC (International Financial Centre)

56. K.T. Thomas Committee- to look into ways of enhancing the effectives of the Prevention of Damage to Public Property Act

57. Fali S. Nariman Committee- Accountability and damages with regard to destruction of public property

58. Satwant Reddy Committee- review of laws relating to registration of pharmaceutical drugs and clinical trials

59. Raghuram C. Rajan Committee- financial sector reforms

60. Shah Commission (1966)- reorganisation of States

61. Tarkunde Committee- composition of the Election Commission and other electoral reforms

62. Dinesh Goswami Committee- electoral reforms

63. G.V.K. Rao Committee (1985) – set up by the planning commission in 1985, to look into the Administrative Arrangement for Rural Development and poverty Alleviation Programmes.

64. Butler Committee: Relation between Indian states & paramount power (the Queen of Britain)

65. Hurtog Committee: Growth of British India education-its effects

66. Muddiman Committee: Working of Diarchy as in Montague Chelmsford reforms


  1. I would be really grateful if the admins update this list and include the new committees and commissions constituted since November 2010

  2. Sir, can you please post a list of committees important for 2017 CLAT? I doubt the committees in 2010 hold much relevance 6 years later. Or, at least, some new committees must have secured the top slot by now. Thank you.

Post a comment or at least a 'thank you!' It's okay if you're ungrateful. :P